Hummer H2 For those who like a little more gleam to their Hummer, the H2 offers a similar rugged look as the H1, but as a lower cost, and with more added features, making it almost a massive luxury SUV.

Yup- another suspension thread...

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2015, 10:05 PM
Default Yup- another suspension thread...

Ok- keep in mind i am a noob when it comes to working on vehicles other than plugs, wires, oil, easy stuff like that.
My truck is an 03 just hit 108k. And looking through previous posts has me wanting to get new suspension parts. I have wheels and tires lined up. But figured it would be the perfect time to do it all at once.

So to replace the stock suspension: im looking at:
Upper/ lower control arms, tie rods, steering stabilizer, shocks all around and new brakes and shoes as well as new bump stops. Is there anything that i am missing or dont know about?

Im not looking at lifting or anything crazy. I could possibly go up 1" but i want to keep parking in the garage! Gonna stay with the 315 70 17's
I guess everything in this diagram???

FRONT SUSPENSION 2003 Hummer H2 OEM ? New GM Parts

Thanks for any feedback and guidance!

Old 07-10-2015, 04:54 PM

not sure what your goal is but id have someone inspect it first and replace what is loose or worn as opposed to just replacing random front end parts, if it feels loose or sloppy a good mechanic will tell you why and what it needs, don't replace just to replace

Old 07-10-2015, 09:12 PM

Ok thanks. I dont have any issues other than random rattles. But i figured since i dont plan on ever selling this truck and the fact it has 108k miles and rust underneath that upgrading everything would be ok. Im sure these trucks are pretty much bulletproof and could easily last another 100k so i dont have to make any repairs but just want to make my truck better.
Thanks again

Old 07-11-2015, 12:35 PM

It really depends on use.