Hummer H1 The original Hummer, which brought the Hummer look to the public eye during Desert Storm, with the addition of some features that make the H1 more of a street vehicle and less of a Army truck

6.5 engine performance

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2008, 02:45 PM
Default 6.5 engine performance

I am new to H1 ownership and I have a few questions can these engines handle performance upgrades? I see teakatoys offering enough stuff between computers and chips along with injectors to get an extra 100+ horsepower? The only diesel I have ever modified was the bulletproof cummins 5.9l that thing would take anything I through at I had twins nitrous you name it but I have never heard of these 6.5l building any power. I would appreciate your input.

Old 01-02-2008, 03:47 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 6.5 engine performance

I have not upgraded any of mine as I felt the performance was what I needed for off road driving. I know people with the 6.5 in non hummer vehicles that have done chips and Predator Motorsports, among others, has the upgrade modules for more torque and HP.
If you watch on Ebay these performance chips and tuners come up for sale semi-regularly.

Old 01-02-2008, 04:01 PM
Super Moderator

Depends on the budget... I don't own one, I'm not very proficient on diesels this small,and I'm not sure what else you would want to do to the drivetrain... but...

you can get 300+ horsepower out of the 6.5l TD and have something in the mid 500's for torque... and still have a very dependable motor.

Heath Diesel, Kennedy Diesel... etc... it's out there. The guys on the diesel forums would tell you to change the turbo down tube, chip it, propane inject it, marine injectors,etc...

Old 01-03-2008, 03:51 PM